Lost Remains

Nocturnal aura swirl around my lifeless body

Under a blanket of embroidered stars I weep invisible tears

Subtle nudges from the tender breeze soothe me little

Three days have lingered past since my last breath… 

Above hovers my only companions: a carousel of scavengers

Whence did I come to lay in this secluded field?

Flora have scattered amidst the parallel landscape

Yet there is no cry or utterance of any nearby creature…

Fate has cruelly isolated my soul to wither 

Longing for a sound as deafening as a screech or as comforting as a whisper…

 

~Laura Heine Keasey

Leave a Reply

